Posted by: Anthony Drewery | March 20, 2006

Exchange 12 – server naming conventions

Having had some time to review the Exchange 12 help files and documentation I’ve revised my infrastructure design slightly. In this post I’ll address server naming conventions and follow it with a post on my revised topology.

We use strict server naming conventions in our production environment and I’ve carried these through to our AD/Exchange 12 sandpit with some slight modifications.

I’m prefixing all server names with LAB. If for some reason they are picked up by one of our systems (e.g. LanDesk) it groups them together and makes it immediately obvious that they’re not production machines.

Next comes a three letter location code: MTL – Montreal, CRW – Crawley, TPA – Tampa etc.

That’s followed by EX. This makes it clear that they are Exchange servers and makes them easily identifiable to those who don’t work in the Messaging team and understand the role codes that follow.

Now we add a code that identifies the server’s primary role:

MB – mailbox server
BH – bridgehead server
CA – client access server
GW – gateway server
UM – unified messaging server

We might also use PF if the box was a dedicated public folder server.

Lastly we add a numeric increment to prevent duplicate names. We wouldn’t bother with this where you can only have one server of a particular role in a site e.g. SRS in Exchange 2003.
So the final server name would look like LABCRWEXMB2 or LABSYDEXUM1. We’re also using a similar convention for non-Exchange servers in our environment e.g. LABCRWDC1.

[tags]Exchange 12[/tags]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: