Posted by: Anthony Drewery | August 9, 2006

Wiping a BlackBerry handheld

This is just a quick tip that I came across whilst decommissioning 7200 series BlackBerry handhelds.

Version 4 of the handheld software has a ‘wipe handheld’ option which unfortunately isn’t present in version 3. To get around this you can simply enter the password incorrectly 10 times. This will wipe all data and configuration from the device.

[tags]BlackBerry[/tags] 


Responses

  1. If you have access to the device (and it isn’t locked), you can also issue the Wipe Handheld command from within the Options, Security menu. Simply wheel-click when in the security section, and in the menu that comes up, you’ll see an option for “Wipe Handheld”. You have to confirm by typing “Blackberry”, but that’s it. We use that method all the time when re-provisioning BB devices.

    Then of course, you can also issue a remote wipe from the BES server 🙂

  2. I’m pretty sure the option is not available in version 3 of the handheld OS, hence my post.

  3. For Ver 3.

    Options > Security > General settings > Click on the Password field > Select Wipe Handheld then Continue.

  4. Very interesting… as always! Cheers from -Switzerland-.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: